Space Brothers Episode 5

Mutta arrives in America! In style, of course. It’s too bad Hibito has already been there, done that first.

Mutta depicted here as clearly up to no good.

All I can say is that this is the best episode of Space Brothers yet, so far it has done more to develop its characters than most shows ever do period, (without sacrificing an ounce of humor) and it does not look like it is about to stop delivering with this killer episode, either.  I’ve already praised Space Brothers for having one of the most soulful and heartfelt characters in Nanba Mutta,

but this installment made it clear that Hibito is also quite a personality to reckon with as well. These two seem exactly like brothers who know each other way too well and have a very tight, but competitive relationship, yet they never alienate each other because their bond is genuinely loyal. (I know some brothers who are somewhat like this in real life, pushing each other to do better in a realistic way.)

“Mike is Samuraiing Ken,” beats “Mike is waiting for Ken” any day.

I haven’t laughed at anything in anime much recently the way the scene with the pug made me laugh, or even better, Hibito’s idiosyncratic homework mistakes as a kid. I like how Mutta notices everything and is very meticulous to pay attention to details and correct Hibito, who is more about “winging it” and having a positive attitude, whereas Mutta tends to be down on himself, but really, really headstrong.   I don’t just mean because he has a tendency to headbutt people, but I guess you could say his stubbornness of character manifests itself quite literally, in that regard.  I’m going to stubbornly stick to my guns and say that Space Brothers is doing a superb job at telling a story, and without resorting to the same old same old either. Besides also having a knack for filling the spaces in with details that enrich the experience ten fold, it is also an original and deserves some attention.

Yeah, dogs should eat hot dogs as big as they are. This does not at all contribute to the obesity epidemic.

Errant Princess Says,

 

This is great, timeless really. 

2 comments

  1. Justin · May 15, 2012

    “This is the best episode of Space Brothers–(ignores the Yet)”

    Hahahaha…you’re going to keep saying that for the next few episodes 😀 I hope.

    • Errant Princess · May 15, 2012

      Probably so! This show truly rocks. I hate it when I think I’m never going to love something as much as I love whatever I love presently, and life proves me wrong when the next great thing happens. 😉

Leave a comment