Hiiro no Kakera Episodes 5 and 6

No worries, the stakes aren’t too high or anything.

Pardon how slow I have been getting these reviews done, I will do my best to get back up to speed here. Unfortunately, I cannot review everything I thought I could so I will be dropping Space Brothers. It is a great show, I just do not feel I have anything new to add regarding it and its greatness, and feel like anything I would say would just be showering it in praise and therefore redundant. Now, on to Hiiro no Kakera.

Just don’t get too eager and slap anyone in the face.

This one has been getting awfully somber in its plot developments, adopting a more grave, subdued approach than I may have expected with such a cast of pretty people. Suffice it to say, Tamaki is going to have to work hard to keep up in the fight against Logos and her minions. It looks like it is not going to be easy to prevent the Logos loli from stealing the artifacts, accessing the onikirimaru, Ā (a powerful object of the gods) and causing the world to blow up. To prevent catastrophe, Tamaki has to figure out how to access her Tamayori Princess skills and help her protectors out in the good fight they are currently being informed they are doomed to lose.

At times like these, you just need some tea.

One positive tendency I’ve noticed about this show, is that it knows how to balance important “meaty” conversations with goofing off ones. The character interactions are given ample detailed attention without subtracting from the progression of the story and vice versa. The guardians do not spare her “the difficult truth” about their roles and the dangers involved, although they also want to be there to support her.

However, just because she is a princess she does not allow them to step on her or tell her to just get out-of-the-way. Rightfully, Tamaki thinks it is important to be involved in solving the crisis, and not just looking pretty or relying on others. That is a nice trait to see in a heroine, instead of having her be wishy-washy and helpless. Combine that with the fact that the plot is moving forward at a good pace now that it has gotten rolling fully. I was especially surprised by the way the battle turned out in episode 6, and not just because it featured a ridiculous amount of explosions, and lightning attacks.

He’s friendly, once you get past this little quirk, I’m sure.

Aquarion Evol flashback alert! There is a new man sniffing around “Tamaki,” in the literal sense of the word.

This is his happy to see you face.

Errant Princess Says,

This is pretty good.